Skip to main content





According to a survey report*, plastic waste accounts for 21% of Hong Kong’s municipal solid waste and around 200 tonnes of disposable plastic tableware were disposed of at landfills every day in local. In the face of excessive plastic waste issue, public could help by reducing waste at source and cut down on using disposable plastic tableware and containers. New World First Ferry Services Limited (“First Ferry”) is going to introduce its green activity aimed to encourage the reduction of use of disposable plastic food/beverage containers by offering fare rebate to the passengers which is named, “First Ferry “BYOC+” Campaign” (“the Campaign”).

 

The Campaign starts from 28 June for four consecutive Fridays. Passengers who bring their own reusable food/beverage containers to make purchase on food or beverages from the shops at Central Pier 5, Central Pier 6, Cheung Chau Pier and Mui Wo Pier during designated period are eligible to enjoy 10% fare rebate of the following ferry trip via making a simple registration with the assistance of the First Ferry Green Ambassadors.


Anthea Chau, Corporate Communications Manager of First Ferry, says, “This is the first time First Ferry introducing the environmentally-friendly campaign with fare rebate offering to passengers, to encourage their reduction of the use of disposable plastic / polyfoam food containers. A small game as a prelude of the Campaign had been held and a set of exquisite meal box with tableware has given to each winner who could bring the meal box to take part in the Campaign as well. We expect over thousands passengers will join the campaign as a whole. The feasibility of holding this kind of campaign regularly will be reviewed based on the responses of the participants later on.”

 

“First Ferry has been sparing no effort in implementing diversified environmental initiatives to bring demonstrative effects to the society. To promote green living to our passengers, we just introduced two eco-friendly distilled water station in Central Pier 5 recently. Passengers can refill their own water bottles instead of buying the disposable plastic water bottles to further reduce single-use plastic. Previously, reuse and recycling programmes such as ‘Lai See Packet Recycle and Reuse Programme’ and ‘Let’s Support Drink Carton Recycling’ had been organised to enhance the public awareness on environmental protection. Regarding the operation of First Ferry, we had set up “Solar Energy Garden” at the rooftop of First Ferry’s Office Building in late 2018 by making use of solar energy to reduce the pollution generating from the coal-fired electricity. In addition, the installation of solar panels on a ferry as a trial to drive the operations of ventilation system onboard had been introduced.” She said.


Data Source: ““Monitoring of Solid Waste” in Hong Kong 2015


The schedule of “First Ferry’s “BYOC+” Campaign” is shown as follows:

Date

Time

Venue

Shops

28.06.2019

8:30 – 17:30

Central Pier 5

W.K. Snack Bar (Central)

05.07.2019

8:00 – 17:00

Mui Wo Pier

Silver Beach Snack, Pacific Coffee

12.07.2019

8:00 – 17:00

Cheung Chau Pier

Praya Red Horse Cake Shop, 日光便利店

19.07.2019

8:30 – 17:30

Central Pier 6

Central Mei Heung Yuen, Café Lantau


Details of the Campaign could be referred to the First Ferry website at www.nwff.com.hk, “First Ferry” mobile app and the promotional materials at piers. Passengers  could also call First Ferry Customer Service Hotline at (852) 2131 8181 for any inquiries.

 

Photo captions: 

 

010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_1


First Ferry introduces its first green activity of rewarding the passengers who show support to plastic-free by offering fare rebate


010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_2


Passengers bringing their own reusable food/beverage containers to purchase food or beverages from the shops at piers during designated period are entitled to take part in the Campaign


010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_3


First Ferry Green Ambassadors will guide the passengers to the registration point to make a simple registration



010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_4


Follow the instructions of First Ferry Green Ambassadors to tap their Octopus for registration and passengers can enjoy 10% fare rebate of the following ferry trip after 7 working days

跳至內容





有調查報告*顯示,塑膠廢物已佔全港都市固體廢物總量的21%,而平均每日便有約200公噸即棄塑膠餐具被棄置於堆填區。要應對港日益嚴峻塑膠污染問題,市民大眾可在日常生活中減少使用即棄食物/飲品器皿,由源頭減廢開始。新世界第一渡輪服務有限公司(「新渡輪」)即將舉行的「新渡輪『走塑』有賞減廢活動」,便希望透過獎勵方式鼓勵市民身體力行支持環保。

 

「新渡輪『走塑』有賞減廢活動」由628日起一連四個周五,將分別於中環五號碼頭、中環六號碼頭、長洲碼頭及梅窩碼頭舉行。乘客只需於指定時段內,於碼頭內的商舖購買食物或飲品時使用自備盛載器皿,新渡輪『走塑』大使便會為乘客進行簡單登記,已登記的乘客可獲得緊接船程的船費10%回贈。

 

新渡輪企業傳訊部經理周淑敏表示:「是次活動是新渡輪首個以船費回贈形式鼓勵乘客減少使用塑膠/發泡膠器皿的環保活動。新渡輪早前亦推出了相關活動的小遊戲向答對問題的乘客送出可循環再用的精美餐盒及食具,讓他們可於活動期間帶同餐盒享有船費回贈。我們預期整個活動有逾千位乘客可受惠。我們會視乎活動參加者的反應,研究定期舉行的可行性。」

 

周氏續表示:「新渡輪於推動環境保護持續發展方面一直不遺餘力。在向乘客作環保推廣方面:近月,新渡輪在中環5號碼頭首度引入兩個「環保補水站,讓乘客可以自攜水樽購買純蒸餾水,減少一次性膠樽的棄掉。較早前亦透過協辦利是封回收活動和舉行「船上示範紙包盒回收」活動鼓勵大家積極參與回收。另新渡輪在營運方面,亦於去年下旬在辦公大樓設立「新渡輪太陽能天地」引入太陽能能源的應用以減少使用燃煤產生的電力,以及在渡輪上加裝太陽能板以採集太陽能並轉化為電能推動船上新增的通風系統裝置。」

 

有關「新渡輪『走塑』有賞減廢活動」舉行時間及地點如下:

日期

時間

地點

商舖

28.06.2019

8:30 – 17:30

中環五號碼頭

維景小食

05.07.2019

8:00 – 17:00

梅窩碼頭

銀灣小食、Pacific Coffee

12.07.2019

8:00 – 17:00

長洲碼頭

紅馬海傍餅店、日光便利店

19.07.2019

8:30 – 17:30

中環六號碼頭

美香園、百匯美食

 

活動詳情可瀏覽新渡輪網頁www.nwff.com.hk、「新渡輪」手機應用程式或碼頭內的宣傳物品。乘客亦可致電新渡輪顧客服務電話專線2131 8181查詢。

 

*資料來源:2015香港固體廢物監察報告》


圖片:


010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_1


新渡輪首度以船費回贈方式鼓勵乘客在日常生活中『走塑』


010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_2


乘客只需於指定時段內,帶同自備的食物或飲品盛載器皿,於碼頭內的商舖購買食物或飲品時使用即可參加活動


010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_3


新渡輪「走塑」大使會指引乘客前往登記站進行簡單登記


010_20190625_First Ferry's BYOC+ Campaign_4


乘客只需出示八達通並依照「走塑」大使之指示拍卡登記,便可於七個工作天後透過前往八達通服務站領取船費10%回贈